Building Pride and Community in Elgin


We work effortlessly to educate the public about the architectural and historical heritage of Elgin.


Our goal is to instill a spirit of pride in home ownership in Elgin.


We strive to showcase a variety of homes throughout Elgin that contribute to our collective understanding of the city.

Community Reinvestment

House tour revenues fund the preservation efforts of the Gifford Park Association on projects across the city.


The Historic Elgin House tour is a 100% volunteer powered event. All of our committee members are passionate about Elgin and promoting it's historic architecture and rich heritage. We love sharing out knowledge and passion with all the community.

Creative People.

Our committee made up of community leaders, small business owners, architects, artisans, and historic home owners. Each member brings something unique to the house tour, and it is this diverse group of individuals that work almost year round to bring you Elgin's flagship architectural event.


Our committee members are all very involved in the community. You'll find house tour committee members assisting in neighbor-works days, taking U-46 students on architectural tours of their neighborhoods, and helping restore the Nancy Kimball home. We work hard to that funds from the House Tour can be reinvested in Elgin through financial contributions to projects like the National Street Watch Depot restoration, The Laura Davidson Sears Art Gallery facade restoration, the Nancy Kimball home restoration, McKinley School playground construction, the gazebo in Gifford Park, and the rehabilitation of problem properties in the historic district.

We Have a Passion for Elgin

Do you? We are always looking for new talent to join us in creating the next great tour. Want to join us? Click on the button below to learn more about joining the committee. Don't have time to join the committee but still want to help support the mission of the tour? Checkout our sponsorship options by click on the Support Our Mission button.

2019 Committee Members

Mike Haskins

Assistant Chairs
Jennifer Fukala & Michael Zimmer

PR & Marketing
Paul Bednar, Jennifer Fukala, Sarah Thomay, & Michael Zimmer

Website & Online Sales
Michael Zimmer

Graphic Design
Trish LaFleur & Michael Zimmer

Tom Lee

Paul Bednar & Barbra Evans

House Captain Coordinators
Donna Leetz & John Marston

Tour Booklet Research
Bill Briska, Elisabeth Carrel, &David Siegenthaler

Docent Recruitment
Barbra Evans, Liz Marston, Janette Mihalec, & Dan Miller

Verbal Presentations
Matt Martin, Christen Sundquist, Pat Miller

Advance Ticket Sales
Brian Schmidt

Sue Kuester

After Party
Donna Leetz & John Marston

Floral Arrangements
Donna Leetz with Town & Country Gardens

Food Court
Tom Lee & Boy Scout Troop #128

Antique Cars
Steve Thoren

Logistical Support
Dave & Elyssa Shroder